Poona Blind Men's Association

The Poona Blind Men’s Association (PBMA) started in October, 1952 by Late Mr. Tukaram Sahadeo Bamankar (visually impaired), and a small group of visually impaired people. The office consisted of a small room, where welfare activity for the visually impaired were carried out on a small scale. The organization was registered under The Bombay Public Trust Act, 1950 and The Societies Registration Act, 1860.

Late Mr. N. M. Merchant joined the organization and helped in the employment of visually impaired people in industries and also assisted in self-employment opportunities. Late Mr. Niranjan Pandya, joined the organization in the year 1966, as Hon. Secretary. He spearheaded a number of projects of The Poona Blind Men’s Association, to be one of the best charitable organizations in India as well as internationally.

Mr. Nitin Desai

1 Mr Nitinbhai Desai

Mr. Nitin Desai is a civil and environmental engineer with a master’s degree from the University of Michigan, USA. He is the Chairman and Managing Director of Desai Brothers Limited, Pune, a leading corporate in the diversified business of bidis and food products, finance and investments, hospitality and renewable energy.

He received the Certificate of Excellence for being “India’s Best Employer, Sensitive to the Cause of Social Security” in 2003 from EPFO. He was one of the founders of “Sahyadri Hospitals Pvt. Ltd”, one of the largest healthcare providers in the region. He also supports various social causes, such as eye care, environment, disability, and education. He is the leader of the Poona Blind Mens’ Association and H. V. Desai Eye Hospital. He was honored by the former President of India, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, for his role in providing eye care.

Mr. Nitin R. Desai is a renowned businessman and social worker who has received many accolades for his achievements. He was honored with the "Adarsh Vayapari - Uttam Puraskar" by the Poona Merchants Chambers in 2004 for his excellence in commerce and social service. He is an Independent Director of Zydus Lifesciences Ltd. and a former Independent Director of Force Motors Ltd. (2014-2022). He also holds an Honorary D.Ltt- Doctor of Letters- Honoris Causa from Ajinkya D.Y. Patil University, which he received in January 2023. In March 2023, he was bestowed with the prestigious 'Punyabhushan Award' by the Punyabhushan Foundation for his remarkable efforts to uplift the underprivileged sections of society.

Mr. Rajesh Shah

1 Mr Nitinbhai Desai

Mr. Rajesh Shah is a prominent leader and philanthropist who has dedicated his life to serving various social causes and promoting fair business practices.

Mr. Rajesh Shah is the President of the Poona Blind Men’s Association, which provides eye care and rehabilitation services to the visually impaired. He is also a Trustee of several hospitals and foundations that promote health, education, and social justice.

Mr. Rajesh Shah is also the Managing Trustee of Poona Gujarathi Bandhu Samaj, a cultural organization for the Gujarati community in Pune, and the Vice-President of JITO-Pune, a trade network for Jain entrepreneurs. As a Senior Vice-President of FAM (a federation of over 750 trade associations in Maharashtra), he represents the interests of various associations of Maharashtra. He has won the prestigious Jamnalal Bajaj Award three times for his ethical and responsible business conduct.

Mr. Sudhir Sable

1 Mr Nitinbhai Desai

Sudhir S. Sable is a vice president and an expert in community eye health and public health. He is a commerce graduate and Director of Sable Waghire And Co Private Limited, a company registered with the Ministry of Corporate Affairs (MCA).

He is also involved in bidi manufacturing and real estate businesses, and holds director positions in six other companies. He is a trustee and a vice president of The Poona Blind Men’s Association, a trustee and a chairman of Ayodhya Charitable Trust, and a trustee and a chairman of Sable Waghire Trust. He lives in Pune, Maharashtra, India.

Mr. Manish Jain

1 Mr Nitinbhai Desai

Mr. Manish Jain is a business leader and social innovator with a vision for creating positive impact. He holds a Bachelor of Science from Nowrosjee Wadia College and a Master in Business Administration from the University of Southern Mississippi, USA.

Mr. Manish Jain is the Managing Director of Kumar Properties Pvt Ltd, a group that has been developing residential, retail and commercial spaces in India since 1966. He is also the Vice President of CREDAI, Pune and H. V. Desai Eye Hospital, two prominent organizations in the real estate and healthcare sectors.

Mr. Manish Jain is the Founder Chairman of Lakshya Institute, an NGO that supports sports development, and Kumar Dialysis Centre, an NGO that provides free dialysis treatment to the needy. He has received several awards for his excellence and innovation in the fields of agriculture and biotechnology, including the Entrepreneur’s International Award, the IMM Top Management Club Award, and the Holland Award.

Mr. Chandrakishor Vora

1 Mr Nitinbhai Desai

Mr. Chandrakishor Vora co-founded PBMA’s H.V. Desai Eye Hospital in 2000, along with Mr. N. P. Pandya, to offer quality and affordable eye care services to the needy. He lives in Pune with his family.

He is a very dedicated social worker who serves as the Trustee and Secretary of The Poona Blind Men’s Association, an organization that provides eye care and empowerment to the visually challenged.

Mr. Chandrakishor Vora is a pharmacist and entrepreneur who founded Mapro Foods Pvt. Ltd, a leading manufacturer of fruit products in Panchgani.

Mr. Rahul Rathi

1 Mr Nitinbhai Desai

Mr. Rahul Rathi is the founder and leader of Purnartha Investment Advisers, a company that helps investors achieve long-term wealth creation. He has a master’s degree from Carnegie Mellon University and a bachelor’s degree from the University of Pune.

Mr. Rahul has also worked with global financial institutions in New York, London and Asia for over 15 years. His investment philosophy has given remarkable returns for the Purnartha Portfolio.

Mr. Rahul Tahi is a board member of Onward Technologies Limited and Plastiblends India Limited, and a partner of Beharay Rathi Group of companies. He is also a social and academic activist, serving as a trustee of Pune Blind Men’s Association H.V Desai Eye Hospital and Laxminarayan Devasthan trusts, and an academic expert of Kaveri group of Institute’s College.

Mr. Mayur Vora

1 Mr Mayur Vora

Mr. Mayur Jaykumar Vora is a successful entrepreneur and social activist with a passion for rural education and youth development. He is the Director of Mapro Foods Pvt. Ltd., a family-owned business that produces high-quality fruit products in Mahabaleshwar region of Maharashtra.

Mr. Mayur is a trustee of V.M. Kapol Boarding School. He has served as the President of Rotary Club of Panchgani. He supports various charitable trusts and causes in his community. He lives with his wife Rajvi and his son’s family children, who are all accomplished professionals in their fields.

Mr. Dhanraj Patil

1 Mr Mayur Vora

Mr. Dhanraj Patil is a trustee and a braille instructor who works for the welfare of the visually impaired. He is associated with The Poona Blind Men’s Association and PBMA’s H.V. Desai Eye Hospital, two organizations that provide eye care and rehabilitation services.

Mr. Dhanraj Patil taught braille to the inmates of Yerewada Jail and helped them write the ‘Dnyaneshwari’, a religious and philosophical commentary, in braille. He is the editor of Antar Jyoti, a bi-monthly braille magazine published by The Poona Blind Men’s Association.